Nathan Matthew David
is a Peabody Award winning and Emmy-nominated composer for film and television.

Born to Filipinx immigrants, he explores a sonic palette combining Indigenous Filipinx instruments and modular synthesis. Comfortable in many sound worlds, he has composed scores ranging from orchestral to electronic. 

He is a graduate of the University of Southern California’s Scoring For Motion Pictures and Television Program. Shortly thereafter, he began collaborating with his mentors Ludwig Goransson (Black Panther, Tenet) and Theodore Shapiro (Bombshell, Ghostbusters).

Current projects include original composition for Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson’s show ‘Young Rock’on NBC, original score for the Netflix thriller ‘Hypnotic’, synth work on Christopher Nolan’s ‘Tenet,' and additional music for the recent season of ‘The Mandalorian’. Upcoming, he is composing the music for the Netflix comedy ‘Me Time’ starring Kevin Hart and Mark Wahlberg, as well as music for Adele Lim’s (Crazy Rich Asians/Raya) feature at Lionsgate.

Recent accolades include a 2020 Peabody Award and an ASCAP award for his work on ‘Surviving R, Kelly’, as well as the 2020 Dean and Mary Kay ASCAP Foundation award. In 2021, he was nominated for a Sports Emmy for his work on the HBO documentary ‘Under The Grapefruit Tree’.


Member of the Composer’s Diversity Collective

Film and TV inquiries -
William Morris Endeavor

Bradley M. Rainey

Leyla Kumble